Abandon (A Poem in the Works)

Abandon

As I stand,

Cool air settles around me.

The muffled sounds of laughter

Discordant echoes in the depth of the night

Are drowned out

By my pounding heart, racing mind

Stuck halfway between

One choice

And another

 

A part of me knows

that it’s disrespect,

Inconsiderate.

 

This I’m aware

But there is also another me

The me

That doesn’t want to play by the rules,

Or assent to another’s domain

 

It is that me, which

Pushed me, led me

To where I am now

 

With the crazy kids.

Climbing on a playground

They’re shouting, running

A vociferous interruption

Of a quiet night

 

I nearly join them

 

But

A renegade reservation

Still holds me back

From their compelling,

 

Reckless,

Sexy,

Abandon.

 

I am torn

Between a rebellious adolescence,

And

The safety net of a naive childhood

 

In this, I am not alone

 

Another stands beside me

Observing

 

His eyes reflect

The haunted, lost

Faces of our peers

 

His breath curls

White, like smoke

Into the air

 

His hands

Stuffed in his pocket

As if searching

For something he knows he will not find

 

I sense his discomfort,

Another tentative mind

And I know

In two worlds,

We are outsiders to both.

 

And I know

that he is wondering the same things I am

That he is

Also confused,

Lost,

in the crazy world of

Growing Up.

___
What do you guys think? Any revision recommendations?

xoxo PenandFreeThought

7 thoughts on “Abandon (A Poem in the Works)

  1. mariewilliams53 says:

    Thank you for the follow and it’s a pleasure to meet you and have this connection. I would not change anything about your poem – it’s authentic and I’m sure we all have these thoughts about finding our place in the world. Well written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

